Skip to main content
Give to Micro

UW Microbiology

Give to Micro

Listed here are some of the many funds you can support with your donation.  Below you will the links to the greatest need funds.  Thank you for your support!

Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Fostering Microbiology Education  Gifts to this endowment support an annual award to recognize undergraduate students majoring in microbiology who have helped illuminate the field for others.

Stanley Falkow Microbiology Graduate Student Support Fund This fund supports research or research-related travel for graduate students in the UW Department of Microbiology. The fund honors Dr. Stanley Falkow, a professor in the Stanford University Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Nester Graduate Trainee Fund in Microbiology  To support cost incurred by the Department of Microbiology's graduate students and/or post-doctoral fellows in the creation and implementation of trainee-driven seminars.

Erling J. Ordal Memorial Endowment The Erling J. Ordal Award Fund was established as a memorial in 1988 through contributions made by friends, former students, colleagues, and members of the Ordal family. Dr. Ordal was a professor in the UW Department of Microbiology from 1937 until his retirement in 1977. The fund provides an annual award for the best undergraduate research thesis submitted in department.

Charlie Moore Endowed Fellowship for Cystic Fibrosis Research Donations to this fund support a fellow in the UW Department of Microbiology specializing in cystic fibrosis. Faculty in this department have made invaluable contributions to the field of cystic fibrosis research. The fund helps the department recruit and retain outstanding fellows to continue the work on CF.

Dr. Helen Riaboff Whiteley Endowed Fellowship Fund This fund supports a fellowship in UW Medicine's Department of Microbiology. The fund helps the department recruit and retain outstanding fellows. The fund also honors Dr. Helen Riaboff Whiteley, who received her Ph.D. in microbiology at the University of Washington in 1951 and became a distinguished professor in the department.