• Quorum sensing in Vibrio fischeri

    Lux genes coding for light production are activated by quorum sensing at high cell density. The light produced by the bacteria exposed the film for the image.
    Courtesy: Greenberg Lab



  • Inflammatory Death of Mouse Macrophages

    Mouse macrophages undergoing pyroptosis.

    Courtesy of: Cookson Lab

  • HIV-1 Envelope Evolution

    Reconstructed phylogenetic network of HIV-1 envelope sequences (C2-V5) from subtype B.

    Courtesy of: Mullins Lab

  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa

    Colonies of Pseudomonas aeruginosa expressing different amounts of exopolysaccharides.

    Courtesy of: Harwood Lab

  • Emergence of Highly Pathogenic Clones of Escherichia coli

    Genetic typing of uropathogeic E. coli reveals strong association of some clones with high sensitivity or extreme resistance to multiple antibiotics.

    Courtesy: Sokurenko Lab

  • Bacteriophage in biofilm

    Filamentous bacteriophage organizing the biofilm matrix into a liquid crystal
    Courtesy: Singh Lab



  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa in co-culture

    Structural component of bacterial targeting type VI secretion system P. aeruginosa (green) assembled in presence of competitor organism (red).

    Courtesy of: Mougous Lab

  • YopM Crystal Structure

    Crystal structure of the Yersinia virulence protein YopM

    Courtesy of: Cookson Lab


Latest News

The UW Department of Microbiology is proud to announce that our own Dr. Houra Merrikh has been named a 2018 National Academy of Sciences Kavli Fellow for her leadership and contributions to her field. She will present her work at a symposium, February 15-17, 2018 at UC Irvine.

The Department of Microbiology is proud to announce Brittany Ruhland (Reniere Lab) has been named the 2017 Neal Groman Award Winner, and Adelle McFarland (Woodward Lab) has been named the 2017 Helen Riaboff Whitely Fellowship Winner. 

A new study describes how head-on collisions between protein machines on chromosomes can disrupt DNA replication and boost the rate of gene mutations that help bacteria survive hostile environments, resist antibiotics, and blunt attacks by immune defenses.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
HSB T-639
Speaker: James A. DeCaprio, MD
Host: Dr Galloway
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
HSB T-639
Speaker: Dr Arvind "Rasi" Subramaniam
Host: Dr Houra Merrikh
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
HSB, T-639
Speaker: Michael A. Marletta, Ph.D.
Host: Dr Woodward
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
HSB T-639
Speaker: Sabine Ehrt, Ph.D.
Host: Dr Fang
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
HSB T-739
Speaker: Dr. B. Brett Finlay, OC, OBC, FRSC, FCAHS