Scholarships and Awards Information

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

David T. Kingsbury Scholarship

The David T. Kingsbury Scholarship was established in 2013. Dr. Kingsbury received both a bachelor of science (1962) and a master of science (1965) degree in Microbiology from the University of Washington. He earned his doctorate in the Department of Biology (1971) from the University of California, San Diego. This endowment was established with the hope that it would enable Microbiology undergraduate students to devote time to a research project that could set the stage for an engaging career in science. The scholarship is awarded to a Microbiology Junior who has excelled academically and has a passion for research.

Don Bassett Award

The Don Bassett Memorial Fund was established in November 1965 by the contributions of fellow students, faculty members, administrative and technical staff of Health Sciences departments, and friends and members of the Bassett family. The purpose of the fund is to express the friendship and affection with which Don was regarded by all who knew him and to recognize the dedication and industry with which he pursued the study of microbiology from his high school days until his death at the age of 20 in his third year at the University of Washington.

The fund provides an annual grant to a worthy junior in the field of microbiology whose studies would be assisted by the award.

Dr. Charles A. and Allie Ann Evans Endowed Scholarship

The original Charles Evans Award Fund was established in June 1983 at the time of Dr. Evans’s retirement. He was appointed the first chairman of the Department of Microbiology at the University of Washington School of Medicine in 1946 and served in that position for 24 years. From 1984 to 2014, the fund provided an annual award for the graduating microbiology major with the highest cumulative grade point average. 

In 2015, Thomas and Julia Evans added to the endowment to create the Dr. Charles A. and Allie Ann Evans Endowed Scholarship to provide financial assistance to a promising Microbiology undergraduate student who has at least two quarters remaining before graduation. The awardee is selected based on academic merit and financial need.

Erling J. Ordal Award

The Erling J. Ordal Award Fund was established in 1988 as a memorial to Professor Ordal through contributions made by friends, former students, colleagues, and members of his family.

Dr. Ordal was a professor in the Department of Microbiology (and its predecessor, the Department of Bacteriology) at the University of Washington from 1937 until his retirement. He acquired an international reputation for his research in general bacteriology, particularly for his studies of microbial taxonomy and ecology. A bacterial fish pathogen Vivrio ordalii, was names in his honor. Dr. Ordal was greatly admired by colleagues and students alike.

The Erling J. Ordal fund provides an award to the undergraduate student judged to have written the best microbiology research paper each year.

Jacques M. Chiller Award

Dr. Jacques Chiller received a bachelor's degree in zoology and a doctorate degree in microbiology with an emphasis in microbiology/immunology from the University of Washington. He was a vibrant and passionate individual whose fascination with biology and dedication to scientific discovery lead him to international recognition as an expert in microbiology and immunology. His contagious enthusiasm spread around the world through the numerous scientists and students he generously advised, and who continue to further our understanding of the biological sciences.

The endowed scholarship fund was established in 1998 by Dr. Chiller’s wife and her sons. The award is given at the end of the junior to a deserving undergraduate student in Microbiology. Selection is based on academic merit with special consideration to supporting students from diverse backgrounds.

Microbiology Education Award

An annual award established in 2007 to recognize an undergraduate Microbiology major who has helped illuminate the field of microbiology for others – by teaching, organizing tutorial opportunities, volunteering in K-12 programs, or simply fostering excellence in microbiology teaching.

Microbiology Interdisciplinary Award for Research Excellence

This award provides a fellowship to undergraduate students in the Department of Microbiology who are performing interdisciplinary summer research that integrates subjects or research methods from cellular and molecular biology with those of other natural sciences.

Microbiology Undergraduate Research Awards

The three-quarter Undergraduate Research Awards support students doing undergraduate research. They are given to students with junior status who have completed at least one quarter of research and will complete at least three more quarters.

Graduate Scholarships and Awards

Helen Riaboff Whiteley Fellowship

The Helen Riaboff Whiteley Fellowship was established in 1991 by her husband, UW Professor Emeritus Arthur Whiteley (deceased), and her friends to honor her academic and research achievements. Dr. Helen R. Whiteley received her Ph.D. in microbiology at the University of Washington in 1951 and was a distinguished member of the faculty of the Department of Microbiology in the School of Medicine for almost 40 years. The purpose of the Fellowship Fund is to provide financial support to the most outstanding Ph.D. student in Microbiology who will graduate in the next academic year.

Neal Groman Award

This award honors the memory of Dr. Neal Groman who was a Professor of Microbiology at the University of Washington from 1950 until his retirement in 1989.  In recognition of his dedication to teaching and scholarship, this award is made annually to recognize graduate student instructors for excellence in teaching and to support the annual Neal Groman Lecture.

Stanley Falkow Award

Stanley Falkow was a Professor of Microbiology at the University of Washington from 1972 until 1981. He is widely recognized as one of the earliest contributors to the use of molecular methods to study bacterial pathogenesis. The Stanley Falkow fund was first established by Dr. Pete Greenberg and later added to by other friends and colleagues of Dr. Falkow. This fund supports research or research-related travel for graduate students in the UW Department of Microbiology.